Centred around Dundas Street W. and Keele Street in West Toronto, The Junction’s name has come from its proximity to the intersection (junction) of 4 rail lines that transect the area.
HISTORY & ARCHITECTURE
Now largely residential, the area began (as did most of Toronto) as a rural region. In the mid to late 1800, a racetrack in the area (The Carleton Race Course) was the location of the first running of the Queen’s Plate. A look through the history of the area turns up figures with names like Keele, Clendenan and Scarlett, all honoured with streets named for them nearby. Once a significant centre for the meat industry, the area was once known as (and is often still referred to as) The Stockyards.
SHOPPING & RECREATION
Close to shopping on both Bloor and Roncesvalles, in recent years the Dundas W. area of The Junction has grown to rival any of these other destinations for unique shops, friendly pubs, wonderful dining options and a great modern vibe.
• Annette Street Public School, 265 Annette Street
• High Park Alternative School
• Indian Road Crescent Junior Public School
• St Cecilia Catholic School
• Humberside Collegiate Institute, 280 Quebec Avenue
It’s a short walk, or an easy bus ride (Keele, Annette, Dundas buses serve the area) to the Bloor-Danforth subway line. Keele and Dundas W. subway stations (along with High Park and Runnymede stations) all offer access to The Junction!